| Cart Total:
Menu
Quality Resources

Quality Resources | Books & Standards

Quality Quotes

Every day ASQ features a different one-sentence take on the world of quality. See recent quotes below, and find past quotes on the Knowledge Center Tumblr.  

If you have a favorite Quality Quote of your own, email it to us for consideration. Please note that because of the number of submissions that ASQ receives and in the interests of featuring a variety of voices, no more than one quote from any contributor will be accepted.    

Week of March 20

Friday, March 24: "The modern definition of quality depends upon understanding customers' expectations and their perception of what a good product or service is. When you deliver on expectations or change the perception of "good," you can say you have a quality product or service." - Geetanjali Wheeler

Thursday, March 23: "Good companies tell you how they collect employee suggestions. Great companies tell you how they use them." - Harvard Business Review

Wednesday, March 22: "Quality is getting the right things done (effectiveness) the right way (efficiency.)" - Yousef Nasser

Tuesday, March 21: "An excellent organization helps its employees to achieve what they want to achieve to win their hearts." - Afaq Ahmed, operational excellence and management systems consultant

Monday, March 20: "You can't accomplish anything unless you have some fun." - Charles Knight, Emerson Electric

Week of March 13

Friday, March 17: "Take care to get what you like or you will be forced to like what you get." - Bernard Shaw

Thursday, March 16: "Perhaps the hardest lesson of all is that there is no such thing as 'getting it right' - least of all with the promulgation of quality." - Mary Walton

Wednesday, March 15: "Easier said than done." - English Proverb

Tuesday, March 14: "Condemn the fault, and not the actor of it." - Benjamin Disraeli

Monday, March 13: "The most important events are often determined by very trivial causes." - Cicero

Week of March 6

Friday, March 10: "If you've higher priorities than 'meeting your customers' expectations,' you're in a whole lot more trouble than any book is going to bail you out of." - John Guaspari

Thursday, March 9: "There are no half measures in the pursuit of excellence - you have to do it all." - David K. Carr

Wednesday, March 8: "Quality is never a random event. It is a result of an efficient positive release program, combined with intelligent change management and an effective corrective action program." - Roberto Tahan, LATAM quality manager, Sealed Air Co.

Tuesday, March 7: "If you think you can't, you're right; you can't." - Henry Ford, Ford Motor Co.

Monday, March 6: "Plans are one thing, action is another." - Murgatroyd and Morgan

Week of February 27

Friday, March 3: "The correlation between service and slogans is essentially nil." - Albrecht and Zemke

Thursday, March 2: "The more haste the less speed." - English Proverb

Wednesday, March 1: "Great works are performed not by strength, but by perseverance." - Samuel Johnson

Tuesday, February 28: "The secret of success is constancy to purpose." - Benjamin Disraeli

Monday, February 27: "If you are a middle manager avid to begin a quality initiative in a company ruled by an executive from the old school, look elsewhere for a job." - Mary Walton

Week of February 20

Friday, February 24: "There is never enough time to do it right, but there is always enough time to do it over." - Walter "Pete" Rohrig, Lockheed Martin Aero Sr. QAE

Thursday, February 23: "Quality enables average organizations to become great, and great organizations to become extraordinary." - Shingai Gerald Mabambe, quality assurance manager, B. Braun Australia & New Zealand

Wednesday, February 22: "It isn't that they can't see the solution. It is that they can't see the problem." - G. K. Chesterton

Tuesday, February 21: "Quality improvement is a do-it-yourself effort." - Steven George

Monday, February 20: "As with many other things, there is a surprising amount of prejudice against quality control, but the proof of the pudding is still in the eating." - Kaoru Ishikawa

Week of February 13

Friday, February 17: "Progress is impossible without change, and those who cannot change their minds cannot change anything." - George Bernard Shaw

Thursday, February 16: "The deepest principle in human nature is the craving to be appreciated." - Mark McCormack

Wednesday, February 15: "We have learned that there is no direct correlation between employee satisfaction and productivity." - Douglas McGregor

Tuesday, February 14: "Brevity is the soul of wit." - William Shakespeare

Monday, February 13: "The significant problems we face cannot be solved at the same level of thinking we were at when we created them." - Albert Einstein

Back to today's quote 

Featured Advertisers