Important Information: Processing Delays for mailed orders in July may occur due to the RNC convention and heightened security procedures in Milwaukee. To ensure faster service, we encourage you to submit your order online via our secure payment portal or over the phone by calling 800-248-1946 or 414-272-8575. We apologize for any inconvenience and appreciate your patience.
| Cart Total:

2024    |     2023    |     2022    |     2021     |     2020     |     2019     |     2018


News Contact

Email: [email protected]

ASQ to Recognize Innovative Achievements in Quality

Twenty Quality Professionals Presented with ASQ Awards & Medals

Milwaukee, Wis., April 22, 2022  — ASQ presented 20 quality professionals with awards and medals to recognize exemplary achievements in the quality field. The medals are the highest distinction for service from ASQ; the awards recognize individuals for superior achievements in the development, promotion, and communication of quality information and technology.

Recipients will be recognized at ASQ’s annual World Conference on Quality and Improvement (WCQI) in May in Anaheim, Calif. WCQI 2022 will bring together quality professionals representing manufacturing, consulting, health care, government, education, aerospace, and more for 3+ days of learning that will produce long-term gains in an organization’s quality mission.

2022 Awards

Martin A. Brumbaugh Award, for technical articles, presented for co-authoring A-optimal versus D-optimal design of screening experiments, Journal of Quality Technology, to:

  • Katherine Allen-Moyer (Eli Lilly and Company, Ind.)
  • Bradley Jones (JMP Discovery Software, N.C.)
  • Peter Goos (KU Leuven and University of Antwerp, Belgium)

Frank M. Gryna Award, for management and non-technical articles, presented for co-authoring The strategic value of servitization: A quality management perspective, Quality Management Journal, to:

  • Hale Kaynak (University of Texas Rio Grande Valley, Texas)
  • Muratcan Erkul (Kutztown University, Pa.)
  • Subhajit Chakraborty (Coastal Carolina University, S.C.)

2022 Medals

ASQ’s Distinguished Service Medal honors the lifetime contribution of any person who has been recognized as a long-term enabler, catalyst or prime mover in the quality movement.

  • Michael (Mike) D. Nichols (Lincoln Financial Group, N.C.) — For extensive leadership in promoting and advancing quality concepts and process improvement methods with an emphasis on statistically-based methodologies such as Six Sigma and leadership approaches such as process management; and for his longtime leadership within the ASQ, serving as President or Chair at the Section, Division, Committee and Society levels.
  • Subir Chowdhury (ASI Consulting Group, Calif.) — For outstanding contributions to improve both process and product quality in all types of industries through his pioneering works on quality engineering, process improvement, design for Six Sigma and enormous contributions on the promotion of quality around the globe and improving the quality of life.

Crosby Medal , for distinguished books, for authoring guidelines for business executives and senior managers from the perspective of practitioners, researchers, and academics on how to implement and sustain the Lean Six Sigma methodology in any organizational setting, presented to:

  • Elizabeth A. Cudney (Maryville University, Mo.)
  • Chad Matthew Laux (Purdue University, Ind.)
  • Vijaya Sunder M. (Indian School of Business Hyderabad, India)
  • Jiju Antony (Khalifa University, UAE)

Feigenbaum Medal, for young professionals, presented to Inez M. Zwetsloot (City University of Hong Kong, Hong Kong) — For outstanding contributions and leadership in quality engineering; for excellence in research, mentoring, and education in qualitative as well as quantitative data-driven methodologies; and for developing innovative techniques for nontraditional applications for process monitoring, quality assurance, spatio-temporal statistics, and predictive maintenance.

Freund-Marquardt Medal, for contributions to quality standards, presented to Charles A. Cianfrani (Green Lane Quality Management Services LLC, Pa.) — For developing, and implementing standards and related publications that significantly helped organizations worldwide in implementing management systems standards. His major contribution to standards literature significantly influenced the future direction of management throughout the world.

Grant Medal, for education programs, presented to Pedro Manuel Saraiva (Nova University of Lisbon, Portugal) —For his pioneering educational contribution in designing, developing, and deploying an innovative, integrative, and intensive program of study that merges cross-technology areas of concentration into a holistic program that addresses the education needs of the emerging generation in the digital age.

Hromi Medal, for contributions to inspection, presented to Tom Brennan (Artemis Vision, Colo.) — For being a leading expert in the inspection science field. As founder of a machine vision integration company, Brennan, an AIA Certified Vision Professional – Advanced Level, continues to be Artemis Vision's lead engineer on innovative products and processes for inspection technology.

Hutchens Medal, for social responsibility, presented to Joy Buolamwini (Algorithmic Justice League, Mass.) — For her enlightened understanding of the social implications of advanced technologies, committed innovation and dissemination of countermeasures to enable organizations to respond with increased integrity and assure a lack of prejudice with respect to the diversity of humanity, and thereby design more responsible artificial intelligence algorithms.

Juran Medal, for executive leadership, presented to Pekka Ala-Pietilä (Huhtamäki Oyj, Finland) — For exceptional leadership in quality through its strategic application to advance Nokia to a recognized industry leadership position while achieving consistent, profitable growth and thereafter extending his engagement in quality promotion nationally and internationally.

Lancaster Medal, for international contributions, presented to Denis Leonard (Graham Construction, Northern Ireland) — For leading, developing and promoting quality in the USA and British Isles while working with colleagues in Canada, Iran, India and Australia, and advancing quality through research, publications, training, tool development and managing EFQM/Baldrige Models, ISO Management Standards and CSR.

Shewhart Medal, for technical or statistical contributions, presented to Bradley Jones (JMP Discovery Software, N.C.) — For fundamental research in the design of industrial experiments, providing experimental design capabilities to hundreds of thousands of users, and for editorial service to technical journals sponsored by ASQ.

For more information about ASQ awards and medals, visit the ASQ website.

About ASQ
ASQ is the leading membership association to help quality professionals achieve their career goals and drive excellence through quality in their organizations and industries.

ASQ provides expertise, knowledge, networks, and solutions to a global membership of over 55,000 individuals spanning more than 130 countries. ASQ was founded in 1946 and is headquartered in Milwaukee, Wis., USA.

Featured Advertisers