| Cart Total:

2024    |     2023    |     2022    |     2021     |     2020     |     2019     |     2018


News Contact

Andrea Kozek
Strategic Communications Manager
Tel: 414-274-2066
Email: [email protected]

ASQ to Recognize Innovative Achievements in Quality

Milwaukee, Wis., May 11, 2021 — ASQ presented 10 quality professionals with medals to recognize exemplary achievements in the quality field. The medals are the highest distinction for service from ASQ.

ASQ, celebrating 75 years in 2021, is the world’s largest network of quality resources and experts. Medal recipients will be recognized prior to ASQ’s annual World Conference on Quality and Improvement in May. For more information about ASQ awards, visit the ASQ website at asq.org/about-asq/asq-awards.

Crosby Medal, for distinguished books, presented to George Wayne Jaques (freelance, Canada) and Aziz U. Rehman (Saudi Aramco, Saudi Arabia)—For the book A Practical Field Handbook in Industrial Radiography & Radiograph Interpretation, a guide to bridging the gap between code requirements and correct radiographic industrial film interpretation to increase compliance, improve conformity, decrease subjectivity, and reduce variance.

Edwards Medal, for outstanding leadership, presented to N. (Ram) Ramanathan (SRF Limited, India)—For decades of faithfully serving as a counselor and advisor on quality matters; for exceptional advancement of quality in India and beyond; and for farsighted thought leadership in challenging the global quality community to expand its horizons by the inclusion of sustainability and egalitarianism in its considerations to deliver quality-based management that benefits humanity.

Feigenbaum Medal, for young professionals, presented to Rashed D. Al Hajri (Saudi Aramco, Saudi Arabia)—For utilizing a mechanical engineering background and 10 years of field experience devoted to solving chronic field quality challenges in the oil and gas industry; for developing processes to enhance quality management systems; and for engaging in educational activities ranging from writing standards to training and mentoring to share knowledge with fellow professionals.

Freund-Marquardt Medal, for contributions to quality standards, presented to Christopher L. Bell, (Greenberg Traurig, Houston, Texas)—For his effective and prolific contributions to ISO standards, including those for environmental management, social responsibility, sustainability, governance, and nanotechnology. For more than 27 years, Bell championed technical and drafting precision, leading to high achievements of stakeholder consensus.

Hromi Medal, for contributions to inspection, presented to George Schuetz (Mahr Inc., Providence, R.I.)—For dedicated and long-term contributions to the science of metrology, including the publication of more than 350 articles related to inspection and gaging, primarily as a columnist for the monthly Modern Machine Shop magazine for 26 years. Also, for actively supporting new product development and devoted service to the American Measuring Tool Manufacturers Association.

Hutchens Medal, for social responsibility, presented to Renée Lertzman (Renée Lertzman LLC, San Anselmo, Calif.)—For bringing a fresh, research-centered perspective to the challenges of spreading social responsibility and sustainability; for using psychology, scientific data and experiments to help protect wildlife and advance climate change solutions; and for translating complex social science research insights into clear, applied tools.

Ishikawa Medal, for advancing the human aspect of quality, presented to Raúl Molteni (IMCG, Argentina)—For promulgating a team-based approach to quality management within Argentina and other countries in South America; for developing a national quality award based on this model in 2007; and for coaching national teams to a record number of awards in the International Team Excellence Award competition. These actions enabled workers to learn and use quality practices, thereby following Kaoru Ishikawa’s model.

Lancaster Medal, for international contributions, presented to Ronald J.M.M. Does (University of Amsterdam, the Netherlands)—For outstanding leadership in advancing quality engineering across the globe; for his extensive research contributions; and for founding the Institute for Business and Industrial Statistics at the University of Amsterdam and its advancement of Six Sigma and organizational excellence.

Shewhart Medal, for technical or statistical contributions, presented to Jianjun Shi (Georgia Institute of Technology, Atlanta, Ga.)—For the invention and implementation of data fusion for in-process quality improvement methodologies in complex manufacturing systems.

About ASQ
ASQ is the leading membership association to help quality professionals achieve their career goals and drive excellence through quality in their organizations and industries.

ASQ provides expertise, knowledge, networks, and solutions to a global membership of over 55,000 individuals spanning more than 130 countries. ASQ was founded in 1946 and is headquartered in Milwaukee, Wis., USA.

Featured Advertisers