Knowledge Center

Quality Quotes

Every day the Knowledge Center brings you a different one-sentence take on the world of quality. If you have a favorite of your own, email it to us.

See recently featured quotes below, and find past quotes on the Knowledge Center Tumblr

Week of February 8

Friday, February 12: "If the only tool you have is a hammer, you tend to see every problem as a nail."
- Abraham H. Maslow

Thursday, February 11: "It is the first duty of a hypothesis to be intelligible." - Thomas Huxley

Wednesday, February 10: "You can choose one of these quality systems or another option or have it chosen for you, but you cannot choose not to have a quality system." - Steven George

Tuesday, February 9: "It is in general more profitable to reckon up our defects than to boast of our attainments." - Thomas Carlyle

Monday, February 8: "The road to continuous improvement is and must be an appropriately tailored, optimized, and personal one." - V. Daniel Hunt

Week of February 1

Friday, February 5: "Today's problems come from yesterday's 'solutions.'" - Peter Senge

Thursday, February 4: "Quality is simple; people are complicated." - Harry Forsha

Wednesday, February 3: "To be effective, strategic management must be used as a tool--a means to an end--and not as the goal itself." - A. Blanton Godfrey

Tuesday, February 2: "There is never a shortage of challenges for people in industry." - Ronald G. Day

Monday, February 1: "It is better to light one candle than curse the darkness." - Christopher Society (motto)

Week of January 25

Friday, January 29: "Well begun is half done." - Horace

Thursday, January 28: "Things which matter most must never be at the mercy of things which matter least." - Goethe

Wednesday, January 27: "A popular saying goes, 'It isn't that they can't see the solution. It is that they can't see the problem.' But solutions you don't see, you have to find. That's why we have quality engineers." - Zaheer Babar Khan

Tuesday, January 26: "For every problem there is a solution: simple, neat, and wrong." - Mobil Oil Company (advertising)

Monday, January 25: "Overreliance on experience, intuition, and gut feeling is a surefire way of increasing waste." - Katsuya Hosotani

Week of January 18

Friday, January 22: "It's not what the vision is, it's what the vision does." - Robert Fritz

Thursday, January 21: "We believe a passion for excellence also carries a price, and we state it simply: the adventure of excellence is not for the faint of heart." - Peters and Austin

Wednesday, January 20: "That's what life is all about - timing." - Lee Iacocca

Tuesday, January 19: "Make sure you generate a reasonable number of mistakes." - Fletcher Byrom

Monday, January 18: "The wisest of the wise may err." - Aeschylus

Week of January 11

Friday, January 15: "Quality—you can choose to take it or leave it, but the market will find ways to reciprocate." - Abhijit B. Mepadan, lean engineer, ASQ CSSBB

Thursday, January 14: "Nobody yields to force unless he is forced to." - Bertolt Brecht

Wednesday, January 13: "I failed my way to success." - Thomas Edison

Tuesday, Janaury 12: "If no problem is recognized, there is no recognition of the need for improvement."
- Masaaki Imai

Monday, January 11: "Execution without quality means you will have to re-execute." - Esther Alexander, PMP, ASQ CSQE

Week of January 4

Friday, January 8: "You cannot implement quality improvement in a hostile environment."
- A. Donald Stratton

Thursday, January 7: "The modern definition of quality depends upon understanding customers' expectations and their perception of what a good product or service is. When you deliver on expectations or change the perception of 'good,' you can say you have a quality product or service."
- Geetanjali Wheeler

Wednesday, January 6: "Good companies tell you how they collect employee suggestions. Great companies tell you how they use them." - Harvard Business Review

Tuesday, January 5: "Quality is getting the right things done (effectiveness) the right way (efficiency.)"
- Yousef Nasser

Monday, January 4: "An excellent organization helps its employees to achieve what they want to achieve to win their hearts." - Afaq Ahmed, operational excellence and management systems consultant

Back to today's quote 

 

Featured advertisers

Rating

(0) Member Reviews

Featured advertisers





ASQ is a global community of people passionate about quality, who use the tools, their ideas and expertise to make our world work better. ASQ: The Global Voice of Quality.