Knowledge Center

Quality Quotes

Every day the Knowledge Center brings you a different one-sentence take on the world of quality. See recently featured quotes below, and find past quotes on the Knowledge Center Tumblr.  

If you have a favorite Quality Quote of your own, email it to us for consideration. Please note that because of the number of submissions that ASQ receives and in the interests of featuring a variety of voices, no more than one quote from any contributor will be accepted.    

Week of October 17

Friday, October 21: "He who runs his company on visible figures alone will soon have neither company nor visible figures to work with." - W. Edwards Deming

Thursday, October 20: "Just as passion without a system will fail, so will a system without passion fail. We must have a system with passion." - Thomas Berry

Wednesday, October 19: "Failure is a matter of self-conceit. Men don't work hard because, in their self-conceit, they think they are so clever that they'll succeed without working hard." - Thomas Edison

Tuesday, October 18: "It requires a very unusual mind to undertake the analysis of the obvious." - Alfred North Whitehead

Monday, October 17: "There are as many different approaches to starting SPC as there are companies trying to do it." - Thomas Pyzdek

Week of October 10

Friday, October 14: "Wisely and slowly; they stumble that run fast." - William Shakespeare

Thursday, October 13: "It has been well said that the effective leader must know the meaning and master the technique of the educator." - Philip Selznick

Wednesday, October 12: " A Scandinavian proverb observes that there is no such thing as bad weather, only bad clothing. Similarly, there is no such thing as an unreasonable customer, only ineffective business processes that hinder meeting expectations." - Govind Ramu, SunPower Corporation

Tuesday, October 11: "Quality is when customer satisfaction goes far north and when scrap and rework rates go way south." - Paul Tang, quality and project manager

Monday, October 10: "The most common source of mistakes in management decisions is the emphasis on finding the right answer rather than the right question." - Peter Drucker

Week of October 3

Friday, October 7: "Preaching quality won't help." - Hammer and Champy

Thursday, October 6: "Our reputation for quality is only as good as our last machine or our last customer call." - Frank Cary

Wednesday, October 5: "The winds and the waves are always on the side of the ablest navigators."
- Edward Gibbon

Tuesday, October 4: "Organizational excellence is not about the management of quality. It is about the quality of management. - Haim Berman, a voice for quality

Monday, October 3: "I believe that every right implies a responsibility; every opportunity, an obligation; every possession, a duty." - John D. Rockefeller

Week of September 26

Friday, September 30: "If you don't have time to do it right, when will you have time to do it over?" - John Wooden

Thursday, September 29: "The price for ignoring the impact of design on service can be staggering."
- Davidow and Uttal

Wednesday, September 28: "An ounce of prevention is worth a pound of cure." - English Proverb

Tuesday, September 27: "The secret to preparing for success is no secret at all." - Robb E. Dalton

Monday, September 26: "Coordination and productive use of differences should be achieved by group decision making processes used skillfully throughout the company." - Rensis Likert

Week of September 19

Friday, September 23: "Only through the collective efforts of their individual members do companies change; companies are incapable of changing themselves." - V. Daniel Hunt

Thursday, September 22: "Despite what the textbooks say, most important decisions in corporate life are made by individuals, not by committees." - Lee Iacocca

Wednesday, September 21: "One good head is better than a hundred strong hands." - Thomas Fuller

Tuesday, September 20: "High-quality companies treat their human resource as a resource, not a commodity." - Steven George

Monday, September 19: "Thinking is the hardest work there is, which is the probable reason so few engage in it." - Henry Ford (Ford)

Week of September 12

Friday, September 16: "If management thinks people don't care, it's likely that people won't care."
- F. James McDonald (General Motors Corporation)

Thursday, September 15: "What we have to learn to do, we learn by doing." - Louis Pasteur

Wednesday, September 14: "When we stop improving, we start to slip backward." - H. James Harrington

Tuesday, September 13: "If you do what you've always done, you'll get what you've always gotten."
- Anonymous

Monday, September 12: "He that will not apply new remedies, must expect new evils; for time is the greatest innovator." - Francis Bacon

Back to today's quote 

Featured advertisers


(0) Member Reviews

Featured advertisers

ASQ is a global community of people passionate about quality, who use the tools, their ideas and expertise to make our world work better. ASQ: The Global Voice of Quality.