Knowledge Center

Quality Quotes

Every day the Knowledge Center brings you a different one-sentence take on the world of quality. If you have a favorite of your own, email it to us.

See recently featured quotes below, and find past quotes on the Knowledge Center Tumblr

Week of September 29

Friday, October 3: "Whatever is worth doing at all is worth doing well." - Earl of Chesterfield

Thursday, October 2: "A useful motto during the start-up phase is, 'Think big - start small.' " - Ernst & Young

Wednesday, October 1: "I know this sounds terrible, but I'm more interested in speed than direction. Once you get moving, you can sort of veer and tack. But the important thing is, you're moving." - John Harvey-Jones (ICI)

Tuesday, September 30: "You can't build a house without hammer and nails." - Katsuya Hosotani

Monday, September 29: "All excellence involves discipline and tenacity of purpose." - John W. Gardner

Week of September 22

Friday, September 26: "An old error is always more popular than a new truth." - German Proverb

Thursday, September 25: "Sustainable quality without strategy is not possible." - Muhammad Hashim, lecturer, Government College of Management Sciences, Peshawar, Pakistan

Wednesday, September 24: "Rework keeps your resources engaged without any productivity." - Shivaji Shastry

Tuesday, September 23: "Don't find fault, find a remedy." - Henry Ford (Ford)

Monday, September 22: "A product is, to the potential buyer, a complex cluster of value satisfaction." - Theodore Levitt

Week of September 15

Friday, September 19: "Problems are only opportunities in work clothes." - Henry J. Kaiser

Thursday, September 18: "Failure increases knowledge; therefore, I would rather try and fail than not try at all." - B. Sanford, Honeywell

Wednesday, September 17: "Although 'to err is human,' intelligence is also a human characteristic, and we must never stop trying to find ways of not making mistakes." - Ishihara

Tuesday, September 16: "In the service sector, consumers expect and demand more, because they know they can get more." - Hammer and Champy

Monday, September 15: "The first step toward cure is to know what the disease is. (Ad sanitatem gradus est novisse morbum.)" - Latin Proverb

Week of September 8

Friday, September 12: "Until you implement a decision, it is not really a decision at all." - Edward C. Schleh

Thursday, September 11: "TQM does not and will not bring results overnight. The essence of TQM is a change of culture." - Edward Sallis

Wednesday, September 10: "You cannot manipulate people into doing quality work." - Townsend and Gebhardt

Tuesday, September 9: "Without u and i, quality is meaningless." - Shivaji Shastry

Monday, September 8: "Making quality work really is ‘ninety percent attitude’—your attitude.” - Chang, Labovitz, and Rosansky

Week of September 1

Friday, September 5: "Teaching quality principles is like publishing a book for a diverse audience: you need to translate it to the individual reader." - Brian J. Lewis, Quality Engineering Manager, Green Industrial Supply, Inc.

Thursday, September 4: "I'm right only when someone tells me, Sorry, I was wrong!" - Paul Tang, Quality & Project Manager

Wednesday, September 3: "Your customers may not be always right, but sometimes they are always right." - Douglas C. Krumm, Pr Project Manager, Rockwell Collins

Tuesday, September 2: "The systems perspective tells us that we must look beyond individual mistakes or bad luck to understand important problems." - Peter Senge

Monday, September 1: "Everyone believes that what suits him is the right thing to do." - Goethe

Back to today's quote 

 

Featured advertisers

Rating

(0) Member Reviews

Featured advertisers





ASQ is a global community of people passionate about quality, who use the tools, their ideas and expertise to make our world work better. ASQ: The Global Voice of Quality.