Knowledge Center

Quality Quotes

Every day the Knowledge Center brings you a different one-sentence take on the world of quality. If you have a favorite of your own, email it to us.

See recently featured quotes below, and find past quotes on the Knowledge Center Tumblr

Week of May 18

Friday, May 22: "Quality is not a task done to products, services, processes, or people; it is what we collaboratively embrace, commit to, and present as an entire organization." - Amy E. Smith, reliability technician, Bayer HealthCare

Thursday, May 21: "Quality is a value and a method and both must be routine." - Karen L. Hansen, director, Quality Assurance & Compliance, Allied Community Resources​

Wednesday, May 20: "Commitment is measured in terms of visible and tangible things, not in terms of rhetoric." - Murgatroyd and Morgan

Tuesday, May 19: "Life may not always be fair or as you expect. You came with a birth certificate, not a guarantee." - Larry Roberts, quality control manager, CMC Howell Metal

Monday, May 18: "Success is getting up one more time than you fall down." - From a fortune cookie, submitted by Christopher Ridorfino, quality auditor, Educational Testing Service

Week of May 11

Friday, May 15: "Not everything that counts can be counted; not everything that can be counted counts." - Albert Einstein

Thursday, May 14: "Quality depends on good data. It also depends on executive leadership in using that data." - Juran Institute, Inc.

Wednesday, May 13: "Whatever is worth doing is worth evaluating." - Wynn and Guditus

Tuesday, May 12: "What we get, and all we ever get, from the outside is information; how we choose to act on this information is up to us." - William Glasser

Monday, May 11: "To manage quality you must measure it." - Steven George

Week of May 4

Friday, May 8: "Between knowledge of what really exists and ignorance of what does not exist lies the domain of opinion. It is more obscure than knowledge, but clearer than ignorance." - Plato

Thursday, May 7: "Leaders don't invent motivation in their followers, they unlock it." - John W. Gardner

Wednesday, May 6: "A fact in itself is nothing. It is valuable only for the idea attached to it, or for the proof which it furnishes." - Claude Bernard

Tuesday, May 5: "It has been said that figures rule the world. Maybe. But I am not sure that figures show us whether it is being ruled well or badly." - Goethe

Monday, May 4: "Nothing has really happened until it has been recorded." - Virginia Woolf

Week of April 27

Friday, May 1: "The carpenter's rule is 'measure twice, cut once.'" - Steven Covey

Thursday, April 30: "Both processes and results are important for a well-functioning system. Processes without results are useless, and results without processes are unsustainable." - Govind Ramu, SunPower Corporation

Wednesday, April 29: "We can only be as good as our customers' satisfaction. Practice quality!" - Rich Graham, quality supervisor, Roofing Systems, Johns Manville

Tuesday, April 28: "Facts do not cease to exist because they are ignored." - Aldous Huxley

Monday, April 27: "Truth is more important than the facts." - Frank Lloyd Wright

Week of April 20

Friday, April 24: "What we know prevents us from seeing what is and what can be." - Micah Woodard, behavioral health director, Western Oregon Service Unit

Thursday, April 23: "Small improvements are believable and therefore achievable." - Anthony Robbins

Wednesday, April 22: "'This has been the first product recall in the company's 100-year history…' The past cannot always predict the future. Zero defects (ZD) is the only solution." - Paul Tang, quality and project manager

Tuesday, April 21: "The message of the kaizen strategy is that not a day should go by without some kind of improvement being made somewhere in the company." - Masaaki Imai

Monday, April 20: "Quality is to understand (thoroughly), communicate (adequately--from the front end of the process to the back), and achieve (consistently) customers' requirements." - Wasi Asghar, Suminter India Organics

Back to today's quote 

 

Featured advertisers

Rating

(0) Member Reviews

Featured advertisers





ASQ is a global community of people passionate about quality, who use the tools, their ideas and expertise to make our world work better. ASQ: The Global Voice of Quality.