Knowledge Center

Quality Quotes

Every day the Knowledge Center brings you a different one-sentence take on the world of quality. See recently featured quotes below, and find past quotes on the Knowledge Center Tumblr.  

If you have a favorite Quality Quote of your own, email it to us for consideration. Please note that because of the number of submissions that ASQ receives and in the interests of featuring a variety of voices, no more than one quote from any contributor will be accepted.    

Week of July 18

Friday, July 22: "To desire to have things done quickly prevents their being done thoroughly." - Confucius

Thursday, July 21: "In considering quality, it is often necessary to turn your thinking upside down and to realize that quality and profit are not mutually exclusive." - Shigeru Mizuno

Wednesday, July 20: "The ability to learn faster than your competitors may be the only sustainable competitive advantage." - Arie De Geus (Royal Dutch/Shell)

Tuesday, July 19: "In world-class organizations, working to improve quality is not an extracurricular activity. It is a minimum requirement." - Chang, Labovitz, and Rosansky

Monday, July 18:  "Benchmarking means out-maneuvering your competitors." - Allan Sayle

Week of July 11

Friday, July 15: "Change begins at the top." - John Hradesky

Thursday July 14: "Nobody will take his eyes off the income statement or put his heart on the line without constant demonstration of support from the top." - Davidow and Uttal

Wednesday, July 13: "There's no great success without great commitment." - Anthony Robbins

Tuesday, July 12: "Quality is not a task done to products, services, processes, or people; it is what we collaboratively embrace, commit to, and present as an entire organization." - Amy E. Smith, reliability technician, Bayer HealthCare

Monday, July 11: "Quality is a value and a method and both must be routine." - Karen L. Hansen, director, Quality Assurance & Compliance, Allied Community Resources​

Week of July 4

Friday, July 8: "To manage quality you must measure it." - Steven George

Thursday, July 7: "Work that delights the customer must fulfill the totality of Time (delivered on schedule), Quality (satisfies requirements for use), and Cost (delivered at the right price), or TQC." - Sng Yang Seng, senior manager, quality assurance, LSG ST Electronics

Wednesday, July 6: "The risk of not deciding is often the greatest of all risks to the organization." - Everard and Morris

Tuesday, July 5: "Not everything that counts can be counted; not everything that can be counted counts." - Albert Einstein

Monday, July 4: "Quality depends on good data. It also depends on executive leadership in using that data." - Juran Institute, Inc.

Week of June 27

Friday, July 1: "Never give the customer the opportunity to look elsewhere." - James Cutler, line operator, Ring Container Technologies

Thursday, June 30: "The World-Class organization is continuously bathed in a stream of integrated data." - Chang, Labovitz, and Rosansky

Wednesday, June 29: "A thousand probabilities do not make one fact." - Italian Proverb

Tuesday, June 28: "Between knowledge of what really exists and ignorance of what does not exist lies the domain of opinion. It is more obscure than knowledge, but clearer than ignorance." - Plato

Monday, June 27: "Leaders don't invent motivation in their followers, they unlock it." - John W. Gardner

Week of June 20

Friday, June 24: "Nothing has really happened until it has been recorded." - Virginia Woolf

Thursday, June 23: "The smallest fact is a window through which the infinite may be seen." - Aldous Huxley

Wednesday, June 22: "The best prophet of the future is the past." - Lord Byron

Tuesday, June 21: "The carpenter's rule is 'measure twice, cut once.'" - Steven Covey

Monday, June 20: "Both processes and results are important for a well-functioning system. Processes without results are useless, and results without processes are unsustainable." - Govind Ramu, SunPower Corporation

Week of June 13

Friday, June 17: "Truth is more important than the facts." - Frank Lloyd Wright

Thursday, June 16: "A successful TQM organization [is] based on facts and genuine understanding, rather than rumor and assumptions." - Murgatroyd and Morgan

Wednesday, June 15: "The starting point for improvement is to recognize the need." - Masaaki Imai

Tuesday, June 14: "What we know prevents us from seeing what is and what can be." - Micah Woodard, behavioral health director, Western Oregon Service Unit

Monday, June 13: "Small improvements are believable and therefore achievable." - Anthony Robbins

Back to today's quote 

Featured advertisers

Rating

(0) Member Reviews

Featured advertisers





ASQ is a global community of people passionate about quality, who use the tools, their ideas and expertise to make our world work better. ASQ: The Global Voice of Quality.