Knowledge Center

Quality Quotes

Every day the Knowledge Center brings you a different one-sentence take on the world of quality. If you have a favorite of your own, email it to us.

See recently featured quotes below, and find past quotes on the Knowledge Center Tumblr

Week of October 27

Friday, October 31: "Great works are performed not by strength, but by perseverance." - Samuel Johnson

Thursday, October 30: "The secret of success is constancy to purpose." - Benjamin Disraeli

Wednesday, October 29: "If you are a middle manager avid to begin a quality initiative in a company ruled by an executive from the old school, look elsewhere for a job." - Mary Walton

Tuesday, October 28: "There is never enough time to do it right, but there is always enough time to do it over." - Walter "Pete" Rohrig, Lockheed Martin Aero Sr. QAE

Monday, October 27: "I don't like people who have never fallen or stumbled. Their virtue is lifeless and it isn't of much value. Life hasn't revealed its beauty to them." - Boris Pasternak

Week of October 20

Friday, October 24: "As with many other things, there is a surprising amount of prejudice against quality control, but the proof of the pudding is still in the eating." - Kaoru Ishikawa

Thursday, October 23: "Progress is impossible without change, and those who cannot change their minds cannot change anything." - George Bernard Shaw

Wednesday, October 22: "The deepest principle in human nature is the craving to be appreciated." - Mark McCormack

Tuesday, October 21: "We have learned that there is no direct correlation between employee satisfaction and productivity." - Douglas McGregor

Monday, October 20: "The significant problems we face cannot be solved at the same level of thinking we were at when we created them." - Albert Einstein

Week of October 13

Friday, October 17: "Unfortunately, problems do not come to the administrator carefully wrapped in bundles with the value elements and the factual elements neatly sorted." - Herbert Simon

Thursday, October 16: "Quality is an attitude, producing a stable outcome meeting or exceeding criteria, that begins at the birth of the process." - Larry Roberts, quality control manager, CMC Howell

Wednesday, October 15: "We may be very busy, we may be very efficient, but we will also be truly effective only when we begin with the end in mind." - Steven Covey

Tuesday, October 14: "Customers are like blood for an organization, and quality is like the soul."
- Muhammad Hashim, lecturer, Government College of Management Sciences, Peshawar, Pakistan

Monday, October 13: "The reason we don't have time to fix it today is that we didn't take the time to do it right yesterday." - Diljit S. Matharu, quality leader, Creation Technologies

Week of October 6

Friday, October 10: "There are no half measures in the pursuit of excellence - you have to do it all."
- David K. Carr

Thursday, October 9: "No one desires what is unknown." - Ovid

Wednesday, October 8: "A manager's informed side of things is fed from two sources: left-brain analysis and right-brain intuition." - Waterman

Tuesday, October 7: "There's no harm in admitting you made a mistake - but don't make a habit of it."
- McCormack

Monday, October 6: "The time to repair the roof is when the sun is shining." - John F. Kennedy

Week of September 29

Friday, October 3: "Whatever is worth doing at all is worth doing well." - Earl of Chesterfield

Thursday, October 2: "A useful motto during the start-up phase is, 'Think big - start small.' " - Ernst & Young

Wednesday, October 1: "I know this sounds terrible, but I'm more interested in speed than direction. Once you get moving, you can sort of veer and tack. But the important thing is, you're moving." - John Harvey-Jones (ICI)

Tuesday, September 30: "You can't build a house without hammer and nails." - Katsuya Hosotani

Monday, September 29: "All excellence involves discipline and tenacity of purpose." - John W. Gardner

Week of September 22

Friday, September 26: "An old error is always more popular than a new truth." - German Proverb

Thursday, September 25: "Sustainable quality without strategy is not possible." - Muhammad Hashim, lecturer, Government College of Management Sciences, Peshawar, Pakistan

Wednesday, September 24: "Rework keeps your resources engaged without any productivity." - Shivaji Shastry

Tuesday, September 23: "Don't find fault, find a remedy." - Henry Ford (Ford)

Monday, September 22: "A product is, to the potential buyer, a complex cluster of value satisfaction." - Theodore Levitt

Back to today's quote 

 

Featured advertisers

Rating

(0) Member Reviews

Featured advertisers





ASQ is a global community of people passionate about quality, who use the tools, their ideas and expertise to make our world work better. ASQ: The Global Voice of Quality.