Knowledge Center

Quality Quotes

Every day the Knowledge Center brings you a different one-sentence take on the world of quality. See recently featured quotes below, and find past quotes on the Knowledge Center Tumblr.  

If you have a favorite Quality Quote of your own, email it to us for consideration. Please note that because of the number of submissions that ASQ receives and in the interests of featuring a variety of voices, no more than one quote from any contributor will be accepted.    

Week of September 26

Friday, September 30: "If you don't have time to do it right, when will you have time to do it over?" - John Wooden

Thursday, September 29: "The price for ignoring the impact of design on service can be staggering."
- Davidow and Uttal

Wednesday, September 28: "An ounce of prevention is worth a pound of cure." - English Proverb

Tuesday, September 27: "The secret to preparing for success is no secret at all." - Robb E. Dalton

Monday, September 26: "Coordination and productive use of differences should be achieved by group decision making processes used skillfully throughout the company." - Rensis Likert

Week of September 19

Friday, September 23: "Only through the collective efforts of their individual members do companies change; companies are incapable of changing themselves." - V. Daniel Hunt

Thursday, September 22: "Despite what the textbooks say, most important decisions in corporate life are made by individuals, not by committees." - Lee Iacocca

Wednesday, September 21: "One good head is better than a hundred strong hands." - Thomas Fuller

Tuesday, September 20: "High-quality companies treat their human resource as a resource, not a commodity." - Steven George

Monday, September 19: "Thinking is the hardest work there is, which is the probable reason so few engage in it." - Henry Ford (Ford)

Week of September 12

Friday, September 16: "If management thinks people don't care, it's likely that people won't care."
- F. James McDonald (General Motors Corporation)

Thursday, September 15: "What we have to learn to do, we learn by doing." - Louis Pasteur

Wednesday, September 14: "When we stop improving, we start to slip backward." - H. James Harrington

Tuesday, September 13: "If you do what you've always done, you'll get what you've always gotten."
- Anonymous

Monday, September 12: "He that will not apply new remedies, must expect new evils; for time is the greatest innovator." - Francis Bacon

Week of September 5

Friday, September 9: "Quality is when the customer returns and the product does not." - submitted by Tim Robertson, PD&GT Product Development & Global Technology

Thursday, September 8: "We only get one chance to do it right the first time." - Jeffrey S. Schiopota, vice president of operations, Aspire Brands

Wednesday, September 7: "Develop a healthy disrespect for the impossible."
- Gene Hoffman (Super Valu)

Tuesday, September 6: "No great discovery was ever made without a bold guess." - Isaac Newton

Monday, September 5: "The mind is slow to unlearn what it has been long in learning." - Seneca

Week of August 29

Friday, September 2: "Use every person's skill set to the fullest. Both optimists and pessimists contribute. An optimist invents the hot air balloon, and a pessimist invents the parachute." - Ramesh Lohia and Surbhi Lohia, consultants, Six Sigma, Kaizen

Thursday, September 1: "Failure is not an option; it's a result of poor quality." - Walter "Pete" Rohrig, Lockheed Martin Aero Sr. QAE 

Wednesday, August 31: "Management's principal job is to get the herd heading roughly west." - Peters and Waterman

Tuesday, August 30: "A world of facts lies outside and beyond the world of words." - Thomas Huxley

Monday, August 29: "The best way to predict the future is to create it." - Peter Drucker

Week of August 22

Friday, August 26: "Quality needs to be constantly improved, but it is just as necessary to make sure that quality never deteriorates." - Shigeru Mizuno

Thursday, August 25: "Self-generated quality control is more effective than inspector-generated quality control." - Thomas J. Peters

Wednesday, August 24: "The rung of a ladder was never meant to rest upon, but only to hold a man's foot long enough to enable him to put the other somewhat higher." - Thomas Huxley

Tuesday, August 23: "The customers do not feel the average. They feel the variation." - Tom Groark

Monday, August 22: "There is no such thing as a perfect method. Methods ALWAYS can be improved upon." - Walter Daiber

Back to today's quote 

Featured advertisers

Rating

(0) Member Reviews

Featured advertisers





ASQ is a global community of people passionate about quality, who use the tools, their ideas and expertise to make our world work better. ASQ: The Global Voice of Quality.