ASQ: ISO 9001:2015 Emphasizes Risk-based Thinking to Prevent Poor Quality

ASQ: ISO 9001:2015 Emphasizes Risk-based Thinking to Prevent Poor Quality

ISO 9001:2015, 9000:2015 now available at

For Immediate Release

Milwaukee, Wis., Sept. 28, 2015 — The updated versions of ISO 9001 and ISO 9000 are now available, culminating more than three years of revisions to the international standards that define the requirements for a quality management system.

The updated standards are available through ASQ — the administrator of the committee responsible for developing the United States’ position on the standards revisions. ASQ has provided operational support to the process for more than 30 years.

ISO 9001 and ISO 9000 were revised to adapt to the changing environments of business, and includes changes to terminology, restructuring of the information, increased leadership requirements and an emphasis on risk-based thinking to prevent poor quality. ISO 9000 helps users understand the fundamental concepts and principles and vocabulary of quality management, whereas ISO 9001 specifies the requirements for quality management systems and certification.

“The standards were revised with the changing business landscape in mind,” said ASQ Chair Cecilia Kimberlin. “The updated versions are designed to help organizations improve their processes, organize a quality management system, and satisfy customers, management and employees.”

Organizations of any size and industry use ISO 9001 to ensure consistent, high-quality products and services that meet customer and regulatory requirements. ISO 9001 is the most popular standard worldwide, and more than 1 million organizations in more than 170 countries were certified in the previous version of the standard.

ISO 9001:2015 provides a process-oriented approach to documenting and reviewing the structure, responsibilities and procedures to achieve quality management. Topics addressed in the revised standard include:

  • Product realization from design to delivery
  • Management of resources
  • Requirements for a quality management system
  • Measurement, analysis and improvement of the quality management system
  • Responsibilities of management.

Organizations certified with the previous version of ISO 9001 have three years from Sept. 23, 2015 — the date of publication — to transition to the revised ISO 9001:2015 version.

ASQ is the leading global authority on quality in all fields, organizations and industries, and provides print and electronic versions of ISO 9001:2015 and ISO 9000:2015, as well as site licenses. ASQ also offers supporting products like books, training programs, case studies, and more.

About ASQ

ASQ is a global community of people dedicated to quality who share the ideas and tools that make our world work better. With millions of individual and organizational members of the community in 150 countries, ASQ has the reputation and reach to bring together the diverse quality champions who are transforming the world’s corporations, organizations and communities to meet tomorrow’s critical challenges. ASQ is headquartered in Milwaukee, Wisconsin, with national service centers in China, India, Mexico and a regional service center in the United Arab Emirates. Learn more about ASQ’s members, mission, technologies and training at



Featured advertisers

ASQ is a global community of people passionate about quality, who use the tools, their ideas and expertise to make our world work better. ASQ: The Global Voice of Quality.