ASQ Names 16 Fellows for Contributions to Quality

ASQ Names 16 Fellows for Contributions to Quality

For Immediate Release

Milwaukee, Wis., Jan. 21, 2015 — Sixteen ASQ members have completed the rigorous process to be named ASQ Fellows for contributing to the advancement of quality. The new Fellows will be recognized at ASQ’s World Conference on Quality and Improvement in May 2015.

ASQ Fellows represent diverse industries on a global scale. The 2015 Fellows come from companies and organizations such as Alcoa and Ford Motor Co. ASQ currently has more than 620 active Fellows.

“ASQ Fellows are distinguished by their dedication and commitment to improving their organizations and their communities by using quality,” said ASQ Chair Cecilia Kimberlin. “As leaders in the quality movement, they share their expertise to advance the quality movement today and for the future, to make the world a better place.”

Fellow membership status may be awarded to those individuals who have been ASQ members in good standing and meet the following criteria:

  • Have at least 15 years of quality-related experience.
  • Achieve requirements across six professional categories.
  • Are sponsored by peers and endorsed by their ASQ section or division.
  • Have been a Senior member for five years or longer.

The new Fellows will be honored at a ceremony at ASQ’s World Conference on Quality and Improvement held May 4–6 in Nashville, Tenn., USA.

The 2015 ASQ new Fellows, in alphabetical order, are:

Norma H. Antuñano, University of Phoenix, Phoenix, Ariz. — For outstanding leadership and commitment promoting quality management and engineering methodologies to diverse audiences as a teacher, speaker and author; and for enhancing ASQ section and division influence and recognition around the world.

Lloyd O. Barker, Alcoa Inc., New York, N.Y. — For many active roles in ASQ including participation on the Quality Management Division leadership team; for executive quality leadership of a global corporation; for establishment of the executive roundtable at the QMD conference; and for serving as judge for the Malcolm Baldrige National Quality Award.

Amit Chatterjee, ASQ India , New Delhi, India — For exemplary leadership in the formation of ASQ India and influencing the direction of the Indian quality movement in global modern quality; for uniquely combining collaborative models; and for inclusiveness in building momentum into the quality movement across all sectors.

Mun Ping Minda Chiang, HealthBaby Biotech (Hong Kong) Company Ltd., Hong Kong — For meritorious achievements in the application of good manufacturing practices in the pharmaceutical industry in Hong Kong for biological products; and for continuing contributions in the related fields of quality assurance.

Luis Miguel Fonseca, ISEP-IPP, School of Engineering Polytechnic of Porto, Porto, Portugal — For outstanding contributions to the quality movement in Portugal; for developing management systems certification; and for professional competence and continual activity as quality management teacher, trainer and practitioner.

Sandra Brumback Furterer, Park National Bank, Columbus, Ohio — For outstanding leadership and accomplishments in implementing quality and process improvement projects; for authoring or co-authoring four books on lean and Lean Six Sigma; and for teaching university courses in quality management and process improvement.

Roland K. Jahnke, Deutsche Post DHL, Bonn, Germany — For highly exceptional know-how and results in global business excellence and sustainability concepts; for truly outstanding global commitment and personal initiatives in business and education sectors in cooperation with UNESCO, international quality organizations, and governments worldwide; and for formal international recognition as a global role model.

Milton Krivokuca, California State University Dominguez Hills, Carson, Calif. — For significant contributions to the advancement of the quality profession through implementation of quality management systems in manufacturing and higher education, including technical presentations to ASQ global member units; and for participation in many quality-focused projects that achieved global recognition.

Steven C. Leggett, AAM, Detroit, Mich. — For long-standing dedication to ASQ expressed through outstanding service and contributions to the Greater Detroit Section and the Automotive Division; and for exceptional contributions through publications, papers, talks and teaching the applications of quality control and metrology techniques.

Stephen N. Luko, UTC Aerospace System, Windsor Locks, Conn. — For many years of dedicated service to ASQ and to Hartford Section 0103; and for commitment and leadership of the section’s education program and demonstrated innovation in the field of applied statistics, which served as an inspiration to our membership and to countless others.

Bob (Bhavan) Mehta, GMP ISO Expert Services, Mission Viejo, Calif. — For a lifelong dedication to the quality profession as an educator by teaching total quality management courses at the university level, authoring a book and publishing articles; for managing worldwide corporate-level quality operations; and for consulting with regulated organizations to improve their quality management systems.

Aimee H. Siegler, Benchmark Electronics, Winona, Minn. — For outstanding leadership at the section, division and national levels; for notable quality leadership in industry; for significant contributions to the ASQ Nomination, Research and Membership Committees; for founding the Women in Quality network; and for continuing support of the Society.

Chao-Ton Su, National Tsing Hua University, Hsinchu, Taiwan — For outstanding contributions to the professional quality movement in Taiwan; and for meritorious achievements in the application of quality engineering/management methodologies in the Taiwanese high-tech industry.

Himanshu M. Trivedi, Bosch Rexroth India Ltd., Ahmedabad, India — For inspirational leadership in the field of quality management influencing regional, national and international communities at various levels through his scientific and systematic approach.

Bharat Wakhlu, Sikorsky Aircraft Corporation, Stratford, Conn. — For outstanding commitment and leadership to the promotion and application of total quality principles at the highest levels in the corporate sector and government; and for being a role model who uses his flair for writing, facilitation and training to enlighten and inspire.

Jay Zhou, Ford Motor Company, Dearborn, Mich. — For dedication to the quality profession, specifically for leadership within the Ann Arbor Section serving as section membership chair and program chair for seven years; and for speaking at section meetings.

About ASQ

ASQ is a global community of people dedicated to quality who share the ideas and tools that make our world work better. With millions of individual and organizational members of the community in 150 countries, ASQ has the reputation and reach to bring together the diverse quality champions who are transforming the world’s corporations, organizations and communities to meet tomorrow’s critical challenges. ASQ is headquartered in Milwaukee, Wisconsin, with national service centers in China, India, Mexico and a regional service center in the United Arab Emirates. Learn more about ASQ’s members, mission, technologies and training at


Featured advertisers

ASQ is a global community of people passionate about quality, who use the tools, their ideas and expertise to make our world work better. ASQ: The Global Voice of Quality.