Frequently Asked Questions

Do I need to recertify?

ASQ requires that you recertify the following certifications every three years to ensure you maintain the same level of knowledge demonstrated in your first exam.

  • Biomedical Auditor (CBA)
  • Calibration Technician (CCT)
  • Food Safety and Quality Auditor (CFSQA)
  • Manager of Quality/Organizational Excellence (CMQ/OE)
  • Master Black Belt (MBB)
  • Pharmaceutical GMP Professional (CPGP)
  • Quality Auditor (CQA)
  • Quality Engineer (CQE)
  • Reliability Engineer (CRE)
  • Software Quality Engineer (CSQE)
  • Six Sigma Black Belt (SSBB)
  • Supplier Quality Professional (CSQP)

The Quality Inspector (CQI), Quality Improvement Associate (CQIA), Quality Process Analyst (CQPA), Quality Technician (CQT), Six Sigma Green Belt (CSSGB), and Six Sigma Yellow Belt (SSYB) are lifetime certifications. They have no recertification requirements.

Two Ways to Recertify

  • Recertification journal: Obtain a minimum of 18 recertification units during your three-year certification period. Document them in your recertification journal by clicking on the following link: and logging into your ASQ account online.
  • Exam: Sit for the exam by clicking on the following link: and logging into your ASQ account online to apply (required if your certification expired and is past the six-month grace period).

Recertification by journal with RU credits is a simple process of obtaining a minimum of 18 recertification units (RUs) within your three-year certification period. You may accumulate the 18 RU credits from professional activities that either increase your knowledge of the Body of Knowledge or are job enhancing. All activities can start before you initially obtain your ASQ certification and must be completed within your three-year recertification period to qualify.

Back to the FAQs

Featured Advertisers