ASQ - Automotive Division


The Craig Award was established by the Automotive Division in recognition of the many years of dedicated services to the division by Dr. Cecil C. Craig, professor emeritus, Mathematics Department, University of Michigan. The Craig Award is presented annually to the best technical/management papers relating to quality and reliability, written by the Automotive Division members.

The purpose of the Craig Award is to promote interest in the encourage the writing of technical/management papers by the Automotive Division membership and to promote their presentation at Automotive Division sponsored programs.

Cecil C. Craig Award Winners 2008

Superior Category

William Maxson

Cecil C. Craig Award Winners 2007

Superior Category

“3L5Y Explained”
by: John J. Casey
Gm Retired

"Developing a Voluntary Health Care Standard"
by: Dan Reid
GM Powertrain

Cecil C. Craig Award Winners 2005

Superior Category

“Dutch Hospital Implements Six Sigma”
Co-authored by:
Soren Bisgaard
University of Massachusetts Amherst and University of Amsterdam
Other authors, who are not Automotive Division members:
Jaap van den Heuvel
Red Cross Hospital
J.M.M. Does
University of Amsterdam
Published in:
Six Sigma Forum Magazine,
February, 2005

“Capability Indexes: Mystery Solved”
By Gregory Roth
Published in:
Six Sigma Forum Magazine,
May, 2005

“TS 16949 – Where Did It Come From” Quality Progress Magazine,
March, 2005
“FMEA – Something Old, Something New”
By R. Dan Reid
General Motors Powertrain
Quality Progress Magazine,

Good Category

“How Russian and U.S. Standards Impact Foreign Trade”
By Maria Stoletova
MQVP, Inc.
Published in:
Quality Progress Magazine,
October, 2005

“Layered Process Audits...
Don’t Believe They’re Just Audits”
By Murray Sittsamer
The Luminous Group, LLC
Published in:
Automotive Excellence,
Fall, 2005

Cecil C. Craig Award Winners 2000-2004

2004 Winners
Sherri Loweke
R. Dan Reid
Lou Ann Lathrop
Mary McDonald
Terry Mors

2003 Winners
There were no awards given this year due to the reorganization of the Craig Award Committee.

2002 Winners
Superior Award
Mike R. Hill
Bharath Vijayendra
John Young

2001 Winners
Superior Award
John L. Lindland

Good Award
James Imboden
James Oxenrider
Norma Simons

Honorable Mention
William Harral
Lou Ann Lathrop
Doug Berg

2000 Winner

Cecil C. Craig Award Winners 1990-1999

1999 Winner

1998 Winner

1997 Winners
Ronald Moen
Hans Bajaria
William M. Harral and
Douglas L. Berg

1996 Winners
Paul Hurley
Hans Bajaria
William M. Harral
Douglas L. Berg

1995 Winners
Paul Hurley
Gary S. Wasserman
Hans J. Bajaria

1994 Winners
Robert H. Kushler and Paul Hurley
Gary S. Wasserman and John L. Lindland
John F. Van Gilder
Mark S. Horvath and James M. Wasiloff
David N. Cushing

1993 Winners
Superior Award
Joseph Pignatiello and John Ramberg
Steven Littig and Teresa Lan

Good Award
William M. Harral and Douglas L. Berg

Honorable Mention
Hans J. Bajaria
William Winchell

1992 Winners
Superior Award
Tripp Martin
Donald J. Wheeler

Good Award
Shawn Burns
Douglas L. Berg and William M. Harral
Davis R. Bothe

Honorable Mention
Barbara Price and Kelly Price
Bruce W. Pince

1991 Winners
Edwin J. Klop
Donald L. Nordeen
Robert J. Dika and
Ray L. Begley
Hans J. Bajaria
Phillip R. Wahl
Joyce S. Jinks
Paul D. James
Douglas L. Berg

1990 Winners

Cecil C. Craig Award Winners 1988-1989

1989 Winners
Superior Award
Hans J. Bajaria
Davis R. Bothe
Robert E. King

Good Award
Judith A. Baranowski,
Robert D. Fisher,
Gregory N. York, and
Harold E. Hempel
Douglas L. Berg
Archie E. Bice
Robert C. Blaone, Daniel W. Burden,
and Norman E. Morrell
Jerry L. Roslund

Honorable Mention
George J. Marcel
David L. Muthler
John F. Van Gilder

1988 Winners
Superior Award
John G. Lazur
Richard D. Moen and Thomas W. Nolan
Larry P. Sullivan
James A. Warren

Good Award
Richard M. Brown and Michael I. Burke
David N. Cushing
Carlisle S. Davis
Del L. Furman
Maureen S. Heaphy
Dr. Kalalsh C. Kapur
Theodore A. Lowe
G. Joesph Simons and Joseph Vigo
William O. Winchell

Honorable Mention
William L. Christy and John F. Whalen
Gerald M. McBean
Charles L. Tomlinson

ASQ News