Growth Chart

Abstract:A standard model can be used to assess the maturity level of an organization’s Six Sigma program. Zhen He pioneered a rating system from 0 (effectively nonexistent) to 5 (excellent) to measure the maturity of a given factor of Six Sigma implementation. Seven factors are measured when assessing a Six Sigma program’s maturity: leadership, customer focus, strategy, project management, evaluation and motivation, infrastructure, and business results. Each of these areas can be rated numerically on a weighted scale to get an aggregate maturity score. A survey conducted in the U.S. in 2010 used this structure to collect maturity data from a wide range of companies. The survey found mean maturity levels ranging from 3.6 for evaluation and motivation to four for …

Access this article
Other ways to access this article

Social Bookmarking

Digg, delicious, NewsVine, Furl, Google, StumbleUpon, BlogMarks, Facebook

Featured advertisers