Baldrige Award and Overseas Deming Prize: A Basis for Improvement


McClaskey, David J.   (1990, ASQC)   Tennessee Eastman Company, Kingsport, TN

Annual Quality Congress, San Francisco, CA    Vol. 44    No. 0
QICID: 9586    May 1990    pp. 1024-1029
List $10.00
Member $5.00

This article is not available online. Contact us to receive a scan of the archive, in PDF format.

Article Abstract

In 1988, the first Malcolm Baldrige National Quality Awards were presented by President Reagan to three U.S. Companies: Motorola, Westinghouse Commercial Nuclear Fuels Division and Globe Metallurgical. A lesser known fact is that since 1986, U.S. companies (and companies all over the world) are also eligible for Japan's prestigious quality award, the Deming Application Prize. Florida Power and Light is the first non-Japan based company to win the Overseas Deming Application Prize.

The recent availability and active challenging by U.S. companies for these two prestigious quality awards has created a lot of interest in these two awards. Questions are being asked like: "What are the criteria?," "Who is eligible?," "What does my company have to do to apply?," and "How are applications assessed?� An additional question that is being asked with increasing frequency is: "How do these two awards compare?" The key question, however, is: "How can these award processes and associated criteria help an organization to improve and be more competitive?" Based en the author's in-depth knowledge of the Baldrige Award and his analysis of official published material on the Deming Application Prize for Overseas Companies, this paper provides some insight into the answers to these questions.


Chemical and process industries

Browse QIC Articles Chronologically:     Previous Article     Next Article

New Search

Featured advertisers

ASQ is a global community of people passionate about quality, who use the tools, their ideas and expertise to make our world work better. ASQ: The Global Voice of Quality.