The Philippine Quality Award: Initiation and Refinements


Veloso, Zenaida   (2000, ASQ)   Philippine Society for Quality

Service Quality Conference, Scottsdale, AZ    Vol. 9    No. 0
QICID: 18851    September 2000    pp. 1-7
List $10.00
Member $5.00

This article is not available online. Contact us to receive a scan of the archive, in PDF format.

Article Abstract

Jointly with the 7th Asia Pacific Quality Organization Conference: APQO paper

The Philippine Society for Quality, Inc. (PSQI), an affiliate of the American Society for Quality, started their quality recognition awards in 1988 and adopted the Baldrige Award criteria in 1996. A ladderized system was created for public and private sectors that would motivate organizations and encourage continuous improvement. Separate recognitions are given for commitment to quality improvement, quality proficiency, and quality mastery, and culminate with the Philippine Quality Award. Between 1992 and 1997, award criteria have evolved to more closely align with the Baldrige criteria, increasing global understanding. The assessment and judging process also varies from the conventional approach. Continuing obstacles such as the relative newness of the practices of Total Quality Management and lack of familiarity with the tools have led to certain refinements in the award process. But the goal of continuous improvement following Baldrige principles remains strong as a method to identify those organizations that are or strive to become the best of the breed.


Continuous quality improvement (CQI),Globalization,International,Total Quality Management (TQM),Quality awards,Rewards and recognition,Malcolm Baldrige National Quality Award (MBNQA)

Browse QIC Articles Chronologically:     Previous Article     Next Article

New Search

Featured advertisers

ASQ is a global community of people passionate about quality, who use the tools, their ideas and expertise to make our world work better. ASQ: The Global Voice of Quality.