ASQ to Recognize Innovative Contributions and Achievements in Quality

ASQ to Recognize Innovative Contributions and Achievements in Quality

For Immediate Release

Recipients to be honored at May event preceding World Conference on Quality and Improvement

Milwaukee, Wis., Feb. 11, 2013 — ASQ will present its Distinguished Service Medals and eight other awards May 5 in Indianapolis, Ind., prior to its annual World Conference on Quality and Improvement.

ASQ, the leading authority on quality in all fields, organizations and industries, recognizes recipients for their innovative contributions and achievements in quality. Winners’ exemplary achievements are representative of the ideas and tools that make our world work better.

Each individual will be recognized during ASQ’s Annual Business Meeting Sunday, May 5. For more information about ASQ awards, visit the ASQ website at

Distinguished Service Medal winners 

ASQ’s Distinguished Service Medal represents the highest distinction for service from ASQ and honors the lifetime contribution of any person who has been recognized as a long-term enabler, catalyst or prime mover in the quality movement. The Distinguished Service Medals for 2013 have been awarded to:

Charles Aubrey, Juran Institute, Boston, Mass. — For a lifetime of selfless, dedicated commitment and service to the global quality community as a volunteer leader, exceptional quality practitioner, and role model of devotion to the promotion of quality in both the profit and nonprofit sectors; as volunteer leader in ASQ for 35 years with activities spanning from local sections, through divisions as well as the highest leadership positions nationally; as the American representative to the Asia Pacific Quality Organization, supplemented by a dozen years as its elected leader and global champion; as a motivated enabler of personal and administrative quality and implementer of quality principles and practices in numerous organizations; for his vision in developing the application of quality methods in the banking community; and as a continuing thought leader for quality applications in finance.

Douglas C. Montgomery, Arizona State University, School of Computing, Informatics and Decision Systems Engineering, Tempe, Ariz. — For his dedication and promotion of quality through high-impact research, service, and leadership; for his continued ambassadorship on behalf of ASQ and its promotion nationally and internationally.

2013 Society Medals:

Feigenbaum Medal presented to Austin S. Lin, Procter & Gamble, Avenel, N.J. — For the interdisciplinary collaborative application of quality methods, both within and beyond the quality profession's traditional scope, with an emphasis on career development and nurturing the growth of future leaders of the quality profession.

Freund Marquardt Medal presented to Gary L. Johnson, U.S. EPA (Retired), Apex, N.C. — For outstanding leadership and pioneering contributions to the development of international and national quality management, environmental management, and management systems auditing standards and their implementation.

Hutchens Medal presented to Manu K. Vora, Business Excellence, Inc., Naperville, Ill. — For his commitment to social responsibility in founding, funding and leading the Blind Foundation for India to serve more than 15 million blind people in India.

Juran Medal presented to Paul H. O’Neill, 72nd Secretary of the U.S. Treasury, Pittsburgh, Pa. — For serving as secretary of the treasury of the United States in 2001 and 2002; for being a quality revolutionary as CEO of Alcoa from 1987-2000 where he used systems thinking and quality tools to pursue perfect safety and process excellence resulting in the United States’ safest industrial companies, huge productivity gains, accompanied by Alcoa’s market value increasing tenfold during his tenure.

Lancaster Medal presented to Bertrand Jouslin de Noray, Neuvy Saint Sépulchre, France — In recognition for successfully championing quality worldwide through teaching, writing, organization building and relationship building; for strengthening the quality profession in many nations and being an unwavering source of inspiration and exceptional leadership.

Shewhart Medal presented to Robert L. Mason, Southwest Research Institute, San Antonio, Texas — For exceptional leadership in promoting, researching and applying quality control methods in the automotive and petroleum industries; for seminal contributions to multivariate process control theory and applications; and for sustained contributions as a consultant and an administrator of professional organizations.

Brumbaugh Award presented to Søren Bisgaard (posthumously), Isenberg School of Management, University of Massachusetts, Amherst, Mass., and Institute for Business and Industrial Statistics, University of Amsterdam, Netherlands — For authoring the paper "The Future of Quality Technology: From a Manufacturing to a Knowledge Economy and From Defects to Innovations," published in 2012 in Quality Engineering, Vol. 24, No. 1.

Gryna Award is presented to John R. Latham, Monfort Institute at the University of Northern Colorado, Greeley, Colo. — For authoring the paper "Management System Design for Sustainable Excellence: Framework, Practices, and Considerations," published in 2012 in Quality Management Journal, Vol. 19, No. 2.

About ASQ
ASQ is a global community of people dedicated to quality who share the ideas and tools that make our world work better. With millions of individual and organizational members of the community in 150 countries, ASQ has the reputation and reach to bring together the diverse quality champions who are transforming the world’s corporations, organizations and communities to meet tomorrow’s critical challenges. ASQ is headquartered in Milwaukee, Wis., with national service centers in China, India and Mexico. Learn more about ASQ’s members, mission, technologies and training at

Featured advertisers

ASQ is a global community of people passionate about quality, who use the tools, their ideas and expertise to make our world work better. ASQ: The Global Voice of Quality.