About ASQ

ASQ Awards and Scholarships

The American Society for Quality has set up and operates a comprehensive Awards Program to recognize leadership, technical achievement, and distinguished service to the profession and Society. The Society Awards Program provides for a systematic approach for the creation and overall control of society awards and society, regional, and unit scholarships.

Classification of Awards

ASQ Overall Society Medals, Awards, and Scholarships

Society Medals and Awards will be administered by a committee that bears the name of the award and reports to the Society Awards Board.

Recognize outstanding leadership in quality with ASQ's prestigious medals and awards. The awards recognize individuals for superior achievements in the development, promotion, and communication of quality information and technology. Awards and medals are named after people who have made outstanding achievements in the field of quality. Anyone, regardless of membership may make nominations. These awards are presented at ASQ's World Conference on Quality and Improvement in the spring of each year.

2012-13 Society Award/Medal Recipients

  • Distinguished Service MedalHonors the lifetime contribution of any person recognized as a long-term enabler, catalyst, or prime mover in the quality movement. It represents the highest distinction that can be accorded by ASQ for service.

  • Brumbaugh Award – Presented for the paper, published in the preceding year, that the committee decides has made the largest single contribution to the development of industrial application of quality control. There is no nomination form for this award.
  • Crosby Medal - For the author of a distinguished book contributing significantly to the extension of the philosophy and application of the principles, methods, or techniques of quality management.
  • Deming Medal - For successfully combining the application of statistical thinking and management so each supports and enhances the other.
  • Edwards Medal - For outstanding leadership in the application of modern quality control methods.
  • Feigenbaum Medal - For an individual 35 years old or younger (as of October 1 of the applying year) who displays outstanding characteristics of leadership, professionalism, and potential in the field of quality and whose work has been, or will become, of distinct benefit to mankind.
  • Freund-Marquardt Medal - For an individual who has held positions of responsibility for development of standards that focus on the management system of an organization.
  • Grant Medal - For outstanding leadership in the development and presentation of meritorious educational programs in quality.
  • Gryna Award - Presented for the paper, published in the preceding year, that the committee decides has made the largest single contribution to the extension of understanding and knowledge of the philosophy, principles or methods of quality management.
  • Hutchens Medal - For outstanding leadership as an individual, business leader, and cause advocate for social responsibility.
  • Ishikawa Medal - For outstanding leadership in improving the human aspects of quality. Both individuals and teams can be nominated for this medal.
  • Juran Medal - For exhibiting distinguished performance in a sustained role as an organizational leader who personally practices the key principles of quality and demonstrates breakthrough management.
  • Lancaster Medal - For an individual who has demonstrated exceptional leadership, outstanding contribution, and dedication on the international scene in promoting the quality profession. The candidate must be a true quality professional with an international reputation and integrity.
  • Shainin Medal - For outstanding use of unique or creative applications of statistical techniques in the solving of problems related to the quality of a product or service.
  • Shewhart Medal - For outstanding contributions to the science and techniques of quality control or demonstrated leadership in modern quality control.
  • Testimonial Award - The Testimonial Award will recognize members who have served the Society with distinction.

ASQ Scholarships

ASQ Member Unit Awards

Featured advertisers

ASQ is a global community of people passionate about quality, who use the tools, their ideas and expertise to make our world work better. ASQ: The Global Voice of Quality.
What We Do About ASQ